Spending the Day *In*

So, today we decided to spend the day in, catching up on projects around the home and not going anywhere. It may make for a boring day at times, but at least a lot got done.

I got another stack of souvenir magazines sorted that hubz brought back from his Alaska and Hawaii trips. Ripped out the articles I wanted to scan in to the computer for later reference and tossed the rest to recycle. Total weight loss? About 10 or so pounds. AND I reclaimed over half the kitchen table! Yah me! Tomorrow’s goal is to scan all those articles so I can toss the physical papers.

Hubz got his resume completely reworked and ran it through RezScore – a B+! Yah Hubz! Great job! There is a big job fair tomorrow morning that we are going to, so we wanted to make sure both our resumes would be “up to snuff” to impress.

I got some more of the information gathered and sorted for the CNA classes I want to take. They cost a good chunk of change, especially with the new State of Washington requirements that doubled on January 1, 2011. It’s not hard work, just a bit expensive, given our current situation. I never thought I’d actually be able to make this step towards making it a reality though. Hubz is definitely behind me all the way, encouraging and supporting me in this path. Whew…in the long run, it will be worth it though.

Another small accomplishment: I made my famous mini-meatloaves today! We found my mini meatloaf pan a couple weeks ago while sorting a box and I got all excited! So today I pulled it out and went to work. It’s really a hodge-podge recipe of whatever is on hand. Start with two pounds of hamburger (I love using 80/20) and add in about three handfulls of crushed crackers. I keep a ziploc bag of stale, crushed, gluten-free chips, crackers, etc in the pantry to use in place of breadcrumbs. Then I add in roasted green chiles and diced onions, along with numerous condiment packets of taco sauce, ketchup, barbecue sauce and a few soy sauces (you know, those freebies they give you at fast food places and 7-11 – why let them go to waste?!). Of course, the eggs and a small can of tomato paste (also dolled up with more numerous condiment packets). Sometimes I also add a packet of taco seasoning. Viola! Meatloaf loaf! Squished into the mini meatloaf pan, bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, then let it rest in the turned off oven (with the oven door open – to warm the apt, of course! Why waste the heat?) and them are some pretty tasty meatloaves. My pan makes 9 of these little delicacies at a time. Just right for a light meal for two, with leftovers for two more meals to stash in the freezer. Eat one or two, paired with my other famous item – garlic mashed potatoes (made from REAL potatoes, thank you! I’ll post that recipe someday, too) and some steamed mixed veggies drizzled with garlic butter. There’s a simple, fast, easy meal. No bad meatloaves here. In fact, in all the years I’ve been making these, I can’t say I’ve ever had a loaf turn out bad, or one that wasn’t quickly gobbled up by whoever I was making it for. Maybe just lucky, I guess, since I never measure any of my ingredients (hence why I also terrible at baking! I have to actually MEASURE stuff then!).

Anywho, all around it was a quiet, peaceful day. Not much to report here. I hear some people saw snow today around us. I know our porches and drive are a bit icy right now. But we’ve got the old reliable Subaru, so we’re not worried. Nervous about the job fair tomorrow, but also excited. 🙂

Oh, did get my first “hate mail” today about my blog. Cool! I was kinda bothered and upset about it at first but Hubz says that means I’m doing something right and getting “popular”. LOL I guess that’s a nice way to put a positive spin on it. It really wasn’t THAT bad, just struck me wrong, being the sensitive sap I am about personal stuff. For all my readers, feel free to submit comments – I read them all, not just the one people put on my Facebook page! I love to hear from people, good and bad.

Off to Dreamland. Hubz and Neeko already beat me there. 🙂

About Lise Silverwolf

A girl, her cat, and her hubby, trying to make it in this crazy world.
This entry was posted in Decluttering, Employment, Post-A-Day, Recipes, School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

